Thirteen leaders of MUCA detained

Posted on February 3, 2012

13 MUCA leaders detainedCOPINH alerts the national and international community of new arbitrary actions of the national police in Honduras that put the physical integrity of 13 leaders of the Movimiento Unificado Campesino del Aguan (Unified Campesino Movement of the Aguán), MUCA, who were detained tonight at 9:50pm. This acion was taken by police who maintain a police checkpoint in the community of Arizona, Atlántida, and they were later taken by an unknown route to the police station in the city of Tela. They were taken in a Frontier truck without plates and a Mitsubishi truck also without plates.

The detained compañeros are: Juan Ángel Rodríguez, Omar Cano, Leonel Acosta, Orlando García, Orlando Romero, Jhony Rivas, Enemias Ortega, Raúl Ramírez, Osvaldo Laínez, Juan Chinchilla, José Ismael Quintanilla and two more who’s names we don’t yet know.

We condemn the regime and the criminal police, and we hold them responsible for whatever aggression and disrepect to the physical and emotional integrity of these 13 colleagues that were returning to their communities after meetings in Tegucigalpa on the situation of campesino movements in the Aguán.

We call upon national and international solidarity groups to join in condemnation of this unacceptable act and demand the compañeros be freed, and to join the struggles against impunity, the violation of human rights in Honduras, and the criminalization of organizations and the social struggle.

La Esperanza, Intibucá, Honduras 02 de febrero del 2012.

¡A mas represión, mas lucha y organización!

¡Solidaridad con Honduras, solidaridad con el Aguan!